The Hawthorn Dress – Colette Sew Along

by Sophie

Hi everyone,

Sorry for the lack of updates. I’ve been quite busy with this and that! I’m hoping next week to get the Jasmine from Colette patterns finished. I bought some super lovely fabric from The Cloth Shop in Dublin for the shirt a little while ago and I simply haven’t gotten around to it. If I’m completely honest it may be because I have been obsessively playing Animal Crossing: New Leaf instead of working on any projects! (sorry, not sorry)

cp1026-04-hawthorn-large-a7af5090c7360ae22a96cc2da7e5a5c9

So Colette Patterns recently added a new pattern to their collection, the beautiful Hawthorn dress. I am in love with this new pattern. It’s simple, versatile and really beautiful. It’s also perfect for everyday wear.

cp1026-03-hawthorn-large-0d13b4eb0286b76e5f0fa0bdac6a3bd2

Now this pattern in an intermediate pattern, which threw me off at the start. I’m certainly still a beginner sewer, especially when it comes to using patterns. However the coletterie (Colette Patterns blog) are doing a sew along to help people make the dress. When I heard they were doing a sew a long I decided that I would take the plunge and do my very best making this dress.

cp1026-09-hawthorn-large-850fbaf16a9760c695bdfc854f690e71

I bought my fabric from a lovely etsy shop called NekomataTextiles. I bought this adorable fabric called the Kawaii Cotton Monster Fabric by Cloud9 and she shipped it out to me the same day, right before leaving on vacation. It’s still on it’s way over to me as I type but hopefully it will get here in the next few weeks so I can start making the dress.

il_570xN.346901487

All together I am both very excited to make this dress but also quite nervous. There are a lot of pieces to it and a lot of things I have never done before. However I feel that I really enjoy this dress and if I can’t make it with the help of a sew a long I’ll just have to keep trying until I can.

Hawthorn Dress Sewalong

Wish me luck! I’ll keep you all updated.

Sophie

