Sewing Inspiration

by Sophie

Hi everyone,

I know I completely dropped off the face of the planet! I completely apologise! I have actually been doing quite a lot of crafting since I last posted. I have plenty of knitting christmas presents to share with you! I have also been dripping my toes into the wonderful world of sewing, which my friend over at Mabel Makes got me into. I started off with pretty simple things and I did a class teaching me how to use my sewing machine. I’ll post up a lot of my stuff over the next little while so I can show you what I’ve been up to.

I’m going to be trying my hand at my first dress in the next coming weeks. The lovely people over at Colette Patterns released their new pattern, a shift dress called the Laurel dress. When I saw this dress I kind of fell in love with it. It’s so simple but there’s so much you can do with it. They even have an extra booklet with the dress that you can download. It gives you ideas of ways you can make the Laurel dress unique.

Image

Over at their blog, the Coletterie, they’re doing a competition of the most interesting ways people make their Laurel dresses so I’ve been looking at ideas on what I want to do with mine. I’ve decided after lots of ideas came to mind that I might do a few of them. I’m going to do a really bold one with a bright pattern (maybe polkadots? =O) and bright colours, a pastel one with softer and more girly colours and then a wintery one which I think I might make out of woven fabric or knitted fabic. Anyway here are some of the dresses that I’ll be taking inspiration from.

Image

Image

I love the idea of the lace over a plain slip, especially in bright colours. I worry that it might be too difficult for a beginner to sew though.

Image

I love this shift dress. It looks almost like a large jumper and looks both stylish and super comfortable.

Image

I love love love this dress! It’s so beautiful and I love the use of the ribbon to break up the dress as well as the scalloped neckline.

Image

I really like the sleeves on this dress. The plain colour of the dress and how simple it is makes the sleeves really pop out.

Image

I really like how this one is using the pattern at the bottom as a gradient and it breaks up the dress and makes it really interesting.

Image

I really love this dress. I have a thing for yellow and I love how the bow hangs on the front of the dress. It turns a simple dress into something really interesting.

Image

I think this is really cute and a nice way to add some pretty detail into a dress without a huge amount of difficulty.

Image

Peter Pan collars! I love them and I’m adamant that one of my shift dresses will have one on it!

Image

I like how this dresses pattern is complicated and how the sleeves are flowing. I think it would be lovely in a floral pattern as a summer dress.

So those are some of my inspirations. I’m also looking at maybe doing some colour pallets to make sure the colours will work together before I buy the fabric. I’ll update you on my progress as I attempt to make my first dress!

So where do you guys find your inspiration for your projects? Do you do colour samples before you start? Please tell me your wonderful ideas!

Sophie

xxx

