A cardigan for autumn time

by Sophie

Hi everyone!

Sorry that I never got back to blogging once I got to Kyoto in Japan! The whole thing was so amazing that I didn’t have time to blog for the rest of the trip! I promise to do a blog post soon about the rest of my trip (a condensed version, I promise). I have no excuse for not posting until now. However I do want to get back into the swing of more regular blog posts!

So I’ve been working on my first cardigan for quite some time. I don’t even remember when I started it anymore. It was before I started using ravelry propperly! Also if anyone would like to add me on ravelry, my username is Sugarcomet.

So after months and months of work I’ve finally finished the cardigan. I couldn’t be happier with it. The fair isle colourwork came out really well and the wool is super soft. The pattern I used was the Velvet Morning cardigan which I found first on knittedbliss and then found on ravelry.

Velvet morning cardigan

One of the things that I liked a lot about this pattern, other then how easy it was to actually follow the colour chart, was that the entire body of the cardigan was done in one big piece. This meant that I could bring it around with me easily and I found it easy to pick up from where I left off the night before.

There were a lot of firsts for me knitting this cardigan. The first would have been doing the colourwork, which I discovered that I really loved doing! It got quite addictive to be honest! The second being the seaming of all of the pieces together. The stitch I used to do this was the mattress stitch, which can’t be seen from the outside of the cardigan.

The only real problem I have with the cardigan is that the sleeves are quite tight around the colourwork because of the added bulk to all the crossed over pieces of wool on the underside. However this isn’t really a big problem because the cardigan is so warm I wouldn’t be able to wear something long sleeved underneath it.

So without further delay here is the cardigan in it’s full glory:

For my first cardigan I’m really pleased with the results! After this one I’ll hopefully be doing some nice quick projects. Some of which I’ll be able to post straight away, some will have to wait until after christmas!

Hope you didn’t miss me too much!

Sophie

