Culinary Adventure Pt.2 Success Edition!

by simtastikle

Hey Glitterati!

OMG GYOZA AND RAMEN ARE DELICIOUS!

Hmmm…I wonder if it comes across that I was able to find the ingredients I needed and make the recipe? Maybe not. I’ll say it straight out so, THEY ARE SO DELICIOUS! Yes, I found everything I needed and worked my little tail off to make handmade gyoza and I even went as far as to cook myself up some ramen!

So here’s what went down. I went searching around Ennis and came across the Barakah Shop, a halal butcher and Asian market store. The things they had, it was like heaven! I managed to find, in the freezer, a package of square wanton skins. Just what I was looking for! I was delighted with my find and I’m most definitely going in there again! So the package I bought was 200g for only €1.60, which was about 43 sheets, which was just enough for the amount of meat I bought, though it was quite a random number of sheets to have 😛

20120614-133411.jpg
This was the size of the package and I think it’s great value. Once I had those I let them defrost. I was a little worried that defrosting them would make them wet and sticky, but they were perfectly coated with corn starch and they defrosted great!

I know you are screaming at me to give you the recipe, so here it is. Now, I have to explain that I’m an ‘that’ll do!’ type person, so I use what I think is enough, measuring is not for me, but I’ll give generic amount and then you adjust to your taste, because cooking is not an exact science, its all about what YOU like. For eg. I’m not too keen on ginger so I used less!

Pics and more pics!

20120615-140756.jpg
A teaspoon of filling!

20120615-140953.jpg
Wet edges are sticky edges!

20120615-141032.jpg
Foldy McFolderton!

20120615-141213.jpg
A tray full of glory!

Gyoza – Japanese pot-stickers
Makes about 45
Ingredients:
350g Pork mince
100g cabbage, chopped (Chinese cabbage is better but I used regular cabbage)
100g spring onions/green onions, chopped
1-2 tblsp soy sauce
1-2 tblsp mirin (sweet japanese vinegar)
1-2 tspn sesame oil
2-3 cloves garlic, minced
1 inch ginger, grated
Wonton skins
Extras:
Additional sesame oil
Small bowl of water

Method:
1. Using your hands, break the mince up and massage it until sticky.
2. Add cabbage, onion, garlic and ginger and massage mixture until well incorporated.
3. Carefully add in the condiments, taking care not to make the mixture too wet, there should be no additional liquid drippage.
4. My advice here is to cook up a little bit of the mixture to test the seasoning, adding in whatever is needed extra. Remember, less is more here! It’s easier to add in something then remove it!
5. Using a teaspoon measure out some pork and place in the centre of your wanton skin. (*see note on wonton skins below) Dampen the upper half of the skin with water and fold in half, pressing the corners closed. While holding the gyoza in one hand use fingers to fold and crimp the edges. This is totally impossible to describe here, so I would advise watching this video (that’s what I did!): Gyoza Skillage
6. Set them out on a tray and admire the pretty! From here take what you want to cook up and then freeze the rest. I froze them flat, uncovered and then once frozen I transferred them to a zip lock bag and left them in the freezer.
7. Dip a kitchen towel in a little bit of sesame oil and coat a flat bottomed frying pan so it glistens. Place your gyoza in a circle or in rows, depending on the number you are cooking.
8. Once the gyoza sizzle lightly pour in about a centimeter of water and cover immediately. Allow gyoza to steam until all water is evaporated and they begin to sizzle again. Pour in a glug of sesame oil and allow to fry for a moment until the bottoms become loose and are beautifully brown. Flip them out onto a plate, brown side up and devour!

Note on Wonton skins:
Gyoza wrappers are normally meant to be round and that allows for a better shape and a more even closure once wrapped. My wanton skins were square so it was either, cut them to shape, or use the square ones. Guess what I chose to do…

20120615-141616.jpg I actually tried them both ways and I much preferred the round shape, but I took a picture to compare them, round on the left and square on the right, you guys can be the judge!

20120615-142004.jpg

And the finished product, I hear you cry? Well, they were delicious! The we’re just like the Japanese ones! Chewy skin with flavorful inside, perfect to dip into a bit of soy sauce! So yummy! What was great is that they don’t really get soggy! I had them in the soup of my ramen and they stayed intact and firm. I’ll be making these again, many times!

20120615-142406.jpg

And there you have it, how to bring Japan home! I miss the food over there and I have to whip up some more things! The ramen recipe is to come, with a review on the slim pasta I mentioned. Try it out yourselves guys, it’s well worth it!

And, don’t forget, keep sparkling!
~Simi

